Haxton Memorial Library Board of Trustees Meeting July 12, 2023

PRESENT: Kim Gibson, Carol D'Alba, Denise DiMatteo, Lynette Crawford, Jessica Baker, Janet Klotzbach

Meeting called to order at 6:30 pm

APPROVAL OF SECRETARY'S REPORT:

Motion by Lynette Crawford with second by Denise DiMatteo to approve June 2023 minutes with change to name on landscaping bill. Motion carried.

TREASURER'S REPORT: June month end report shows \$79,439.33 in checking. \$84,483.80 in savings. Motion by Jessica Baker with second by Denise DiMatteo to approve June report. Motion carried.

Bills for July total \$4,148.49. Motion by Denise DiMatteo with second by Jessica Baker to pay July bills. Motion carried.

MANAGER'S REPORT: As submitted by Kim Gibson, Library Manager, and on file at the library office. The report highlights attendance for programs throughout the month and various meetings attended in support of the library.

OLD BUSINESS

- LAWYER UPDATE: The library board met with the lawyer on June 26. Next meeting set for July 31 at 6:30 pm. A library mission statement was made. Reviewed the positions of library treasurer versus VP for finance. Signed consents to serve and oaths of office. Discussed completing an assessment of library assets.
- SUMMER READING UPDATE: 70 children registered for the program. 15 teens registered. Board discussed diversity on the teen bingo board.
- KIM'S WAIVER LETTERS: Letters are complete and ready to be submitted to the lawyer.

NEW BUSINESS

- SAC COMMITTEE: 2 directors from each county attend this Nioga committee. Kim Gibson from Haxton Memorial Library and Betsy Halvorsen from Woodward Memorial Library will represent Genesee county. Meetings to take place via Zoom and begin July 26.
- VOLUNTEERS APPROVED: There is an increased interest in library volunteering. Volunteers will be approved depending on the director's discretion and availability going forward. Motion by Denise DiMatteo with second by Lynette Crawford to approve the following volunteers: Parker Fares, Nick Ostlander, Eliott Wetmore, Peyton Fares, Polian Makarevic, Levi Mabon, Kenzie Button and Annabell McCaslin. Motion carried.

NEXT MEETING: August 16th @ 6:30 PM

Meeting adjourned at 8:16 PM.